Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m getting excited now.

My anticipation is of getting off the train (shuttle from the airport) in Rome and rolling my bag to Lar105, a convent operated by  Concezioniste Missionarie.  Really, a

Access to the convent

convent in Rome, Italy.  How can any experience get deeper into the culture of a city?

Convent Garden

I’m hoping to see the Sistine Chapel and re-visit the Pietà in St. Peter’s Basilica.  But still…a convent!

From there I’m going to Scalea, Calabria, Italy.   I looked at a ton of villages in Italy but I

recognized this as home when I saw it.

I found a great beginning stay in a casa owned by English people.  (Bet I’ll be relieved to speak English now and then:)

Wine Cellar Apartment

My little apartment is in an old wine cellar.  The owner says there is a cafe down the street next to a garden where I can sit with my laptop or Itouch and get free internet.  Yes!

For my final night, I found a hotel near the airport since my flight leaves at 6:45 a.m.

Not a full out plan, but it’s enough to get me going!

Ciao