Tags

, , , ,

Markets in Scalea

Grandsons shopping

I love going to the market every morning.  When I’m alone I create a problem for myself by being such a greedy-gut. I buy too much and can’t think of anything I need for the next morning.

It’s been different in the last few days.  My grandchildren have arrived.  Now I can’t buy two days worth of produce.  No matter how large the bags of fruit and vegetables that I buy, they are gone the next morning.  Yesterday’s watermelon was gargantuan…it was a feeding frenzy that went on into the wee hours of the morning.

The days don’t have the Italian rhythm now because the kids sleep long and stay up late.  If we were to have an afternoon rest, it would have to be at 5:30, not 1:30 because some are still asleep at 1:30.  Does it matter?  Not a bit!

They are jet-lagged and this is vacation.

Seiji, he youngest of the group sometimes struggles to keep up.  He wakes early and goes to the market with me and yet he hates missing out on “cousin time” so he skipped the afternoon rest yesterday.  By 11:00 p.m. as we left the others on the pedonale and returned home, he said, “I’m really too young to stay up so late without a rest.  I’m going to lie down tomorrow.”

Swimming in ScaleaWe’re trying to live without a lot of rules.  There are some that must apply to the younger ones even though there are young adults in the group who can make their own decisions.  For instance, I’ve taken a bit of heat (no pun intended) for not allowing the young ones to play in the sea between 12:00 and 3:30.

Robert and Cole walking to the beach

I do have a rationale.

First of all, in my opinion (and that of most Italians here) it is just plain dangerous due to heat and sun exposure. I can’t force my opinions or decisions on adults but I am responsible for the well-being of the young ones. And it’s a bit of prevention to keep everyone feeling well enough to stroll the streets at night.

Mostly, we’re cruising through the days with joy and comraderie.  Small trips to the stores for supplies.

We have a dining room but seem to prefer crowding around the kitchen table.

Fresh bread (as well as the dense and delicious cornetti) each day from the Panificio . Succulent and sweet nectarines.  So much salami milano that the butcher is wondering where it all goes.

After our evening meal (last night we took the newbies back to the Antica Taverna) we sit with our Gelato, talking, laughing and watching the people walk back and forth in passeggiatta.

Passeggio in Scalea

Hanging out on the pedonale.

Maybe we just have our own rhythm.

Second trip to the Taverna