Tags

, , ,

P1040279After sharing Mykonos with two giant cruise ships we were pleased to know that we would be alone in Santorini, the second place prize winner in the perfect cruise port contest.

The last time I visited here with my friend Mary on my first trip to Greece. It was a quick stop on our way back to Athens from the lovely secluded island of Folegandros.

P1040277I have always felt that perhaps I was biased against Santorini because it was such a shock after our quiet days on an authentic Greek Island where real people lived and few people visited.

Well, here’s my new experience on Santorini:

We walked up 580+ steps through donkey dung.

We had a lovely coffee on a lovely terrace overlooking the sea.

We walked the cobbled streets which are  lined with shops selling everything imaginable in a tourist town. There was a lot of smiling and refusing food, jewelry, souvenirs and holiday clothing.

We dodged rented ATV’s.P1040278

We visited two beautiful churches, one a part of a monastery.

P1040280We shared a wonderful gyros plate and dessert of greek yogurt with honey from bees that were raised on the neighboring island. we could see the island in the distance.

We walked back down 580+ steps amid the P1040276donkey dung.

I won’t say I’ll never go back, but I don’t need to go back.