Tags

, , , ,

I walked today where Jesus walked…”*

Mosaic sidewalks

Mosaic sidewalks

P1040340 EphesusWell, not really, but I walked where Paul spoke to the Ephesians. P1040338This side tour to Ephesus from Kuşadası, Turkey was a trip down the memory lane of my Bible-based childhood. Ephesus is no longer a seaport.

A view toward the sea.

A view toward the sea.

Climate and change of terrain now place it up-valley; yet with the help of a knowledgeable guide one can envision it as it was.

P1040333

Sandals haven’t changes so much, have they?

Ephesus is another eye-opener into an advanced civilization in ancient times. The Ephesians had heat plus P1040328 Ephesushot and cold running water in their homes. The had communal toiletsP1040329

Ancient out (?) house

Ancient out (?) house

through which water flushed away their daily duties. They had a theater that seats 25,000 and a hospital which declared that death could not enter.

Amphitheater

Amphitheater

(Surgeries were done outside and those too sick to survive were sent home.)

The Library is an impressive monunent to learning. (Austria has commandeered the original statues from the library. Copies stand in their places.)

P1040327 Ephesus

Not the grandest of the houses, those were elsewhere.

P1040332 Ephesus P1040326 Ephesus

Library

Library

I’m never good at details…so click here and read more. I am going to post a ton of photos that will give you a snapshot of this site but can’t hope to do it justice. Just the impressions were more than I could assimilate in a couple of hours.

When I disembarked from the Wind Spirit I had left Kuşadası without a backward glance. When I returned from the tour, I refused the portion that took us through the rug and silk-factory, made my way through the gauntlet of vendors and the Duty-Free Shop and went back to the ship to think about all I had seen and learned. So I never visited the city of Kuşadası itself.

*Remembered hymn from my childhood.

TRAVEL NOTE: If you are anywhere close to this historical site, take the opportunity to visit.(Unless you are one of those people who will carry your Baedeaker’s and have studied this intensively before your arrival…hire a guide.)