Tags

, , , , ,

P1040393There is so dang much to see in the Mosques, the Sultan’s P1040400Palaces and the Archaeological Museums that I after a while I had to focus on something, anything. It’s that memory card thing again!*

Which twin has the Toni?

Which twin has the Toni?

The Archealogical Museums in Istanbul consist of three separate buildings located in the park of Topkapi. The collections are more that I could assimilate in several days of visiting. Trying to squeeze them in between breakfast and a Turkish Bath is mind-boggling.

P1040392So I decided to concentrate on heads…

Here is the reflection of my husband trying to look as happy as this ancient figurine.

Here is the reflection of my husband trying to look as happy as this ancient figurine.

Those of you who like details and history may do better to “Google” these museums and get the facts. As usual, I am a big picture sort of gal and have carried away impressions and the images of faces and heads dating from 2500 B.C.+/- to more recent ancient times. Faces in IstanbulI was captiviated by the artistry that spans the ages.

Such appreciation of beauty and ability to reproduce is humbling. I don’t aspire to the talent of those artists who worked 4000 years ago with the barest minimum of tools. But, I can recognize greatness.

Alexander the Great

Alexander the Great

And even walking through the beautiful statuary I learned. Who knew that Alexander the Great was just a boy?

I learned (and already forgot) the sources of the marble used in some of these pieces.P1040398

After three buildings, with our heads swimming and our feet beginning to talk to us, we opted for lunch.

Next time…more time.

P1040404*I tend to leave all of my photos on my memory card and have to delete old photos as I go along. I felt the same way about my brain after a couple of days of historical sites…my brain’s memory card was full and I needed to delete some things in order to assimilate more.