Tags

, ,

The wonderful paprika peppers that are dried and fried as antipasto. Also added to cured meats...a much better way to have create a brilliant red than to add red dye.

The wonderful paprika peppers that are dried and fried as antipasto. Also added to cured meats…a much better way to have create a brilliant red than to add red dye.

Farm-to-Table was the original concept in shopping. People brought food by P1090268whatever means were available to the places where people needed to buy.

This fishmonger is a character. She is fun to watch as she aggressively markets her wares.

This fishmonger is a character. She is fun to watch as she aggressively markets her wares.

Our grower’s markets are still congregations of providers who are willing to transport their products to those of us who are willing to buy.P1090261

Since I began traveling many years ago, I have fallen in love with this concept. I am rejuvenated

Squash blossoms. I have eaten them as antipasti at restaurants. Wish I had the nerve to try fixing them. (This is one of my favorite vendors in my different visits here.)

Squash blossoms. I have eaten them as antipasti at restaurants. Wish I had the nerve to try fixing them. (This is one of my favorite vendors in my different visits here.)

and invigorated by the sights, smells and camaraderie of open air markets. At home, my husband I have made play dates of roaming these markets which move from town to town throughout the growing season. Here in Italy the larger market is on Monday, but I can visit the small assortment of vendors every day if I need fruits and vegetables. The vendors know us and recommend what they think we might like.P1090259

I never tire of wandering through the stalls at markets and choosing ingredients for my breakfast, lunch or dinner. I hope you aren’t tired of looking at the photos!

Seasonal fruit is a treat! Nectarines and peaches are wonderful here.

Seasonal fruit is such a treat! Nectarines and peaches are wonderful here.