Tags

, , , ,

We climbed the Pyramid of the Sun, walking the perimeter on each landing.

We climbed the Pyramid of the Sun, walking the perimeter on each landing.

P1050176In late October/early November I was in retreat with The Pyramid Academy near Mexico City. I knew that the ruins of Teotihuacàn would provide the backbone for a perfect photo blog. Then I was asked to give up WiFi for the week.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quetzalcoatl

In the Temple of Quetzalcòatl

That was exactly what I needed to do. After all, when trying to live in the present P1050109moment it seems strange to be constantly thinking of how I am going to write this experience for you.

I have archived pages and pages of my thoughts and experiences. Would I be better served by living each moment fully?

It’s a hard question.

Much of my joy in life is time, thoughts and memories with friends and family. And some of my great travel experiences are alone but can be shared by my posts. Also, these memories become my personal joournal. Where have I been? what have I done?

In Otumba for a few hours, shopping for flowers for Dia de los Muertos offrendas.

In Otumba for a few hours, shopping for flowers for Dia de los Muertos offrendas.

The retreat won out. I did not use the available internet. Other than to visit the market and around Dia de los Muertos, I used my camera rarely until the last day at the pyramids. During the retreat I didn’t break the electronic silence other than a quick “I’m okay” text message to my husband mid-week. And I’m the better for having complied.
P1050165
Teotihuacan is a beautiful place “where the Gods were created”. I have very few photos but much to show for having been there. I’m sharing a few scenes.
A view toward the Pyramid of the Moon (left) and the Pyramid of the Sun (right).

A view toward the Pyramid of the Moon (left) and the Pyramid of the Sun (right).