Tags

, , , ,

Perhaps this could have revived me after some of our treks...but maybe I needed more.

Perhaps this could have revived me after some of our treks…but maybe I needed more.

I’ve already mentioned the Picasso exhibit at the MOMA in New York. And now we have the Pompidou in Paris.

IMG_1826

Yes, I love Picasso’s more conventional drawings. They convey such feeling to me.

Is there a museum of heft in the world that doesn’t have at least one Picasso? Probably not. But to be immersed in his art for several days provides a new understanding.

How I felt after a day of running with the young women!

How I felt after a day of running with the young women!

I have never been so immersed in Picasso nor have I really understood him. I will admit that my favorite of his works are probably the more conventional. That’s just the kind of mind I have. But it’s fascinating to see the progession of his works, his reactions to the impressionists, politics, etc.

Seeing his paintings in juxtaposition to Georges Braque, a colleague whose works were pretty indistinguishable from Picasso’s for me let me see these works more as a movement – as important as the impressionists – that included several artists of the time.

Cue in the Picasso Museum…

And then one of Picasso's renditions.

And then one of Picasso’s renditions.

Manet's

Manet’s Le Dêjeuner Sur l’Herbe

Having just been to the Musee d’Orsay and spending time in front of Le Dêjeuner Sur l’Herbe by Eduardo Manet, it was amusing and fascinating ot see the many takes on the painting in The Picasso Museum.

Kellee, who is so well-schooled in modern art despaired of Mary and I as we created dialogues to go along with the paintings that we enjoyed.

Suffice it to say that I have seen more Picasso’s, enjoyed Picasso more, and understood him better after our time in New York and Paris. Thank you, Kellee, for all of your instruction that I enjoyed so much more than I would have a “real” tour guide. Thank you, Mary, for the dose of humor.

The Wanderer